Ruston Peach Festival

23 01 2013

The Ruston Peach Festival (again, a post 6 months in the making) was a blast. I had been talking about going since I first visited Ruston, scarily almost 10 years ago. It was everything I had imagined and more. I ate delicious peaches, baked/sizzled in the hot sun, and fed a coon with my bare hand. Also, I stocked up on random canned delicacies like Garlic Pickle Chips, Peach Salsa, and Peach Butter. Yum!

peaches in actionThe conveyor belt of goodness at Mitcham Farms.

Bubba the SquirrelBubba the motorcycle riding squirrel and her owner. This was a the craft/bazaar in downtown Ruston. We got to help Brittany’s mom, Ms. Michelle, sell some of her amazing handmade items. They’re all put together from old pocket watches. I love my earrings and the necklace I got that weekend!

coonsThe racoons at Grandmother’s house (Brittany’s grandmother). They come over every night for a meal provided by Mrs. McGehee, usually scoops of dog food and any delicious leftovers she may have in the fridge or pantry. She even has a pan of water she leaves out so they can wash their food, if they’re so inclined.

IMG_2733This is one of my favorite photos from the day, this little guy was so cute!

IMG_2731Here’s proof that I fed a ‘coon! I was pretty thrilled, since I’ve had a dream of owning or interacting with racoons ever since I saw Rascal. Needless to say, those little hand-like paws only poured fuel on the fire. If only they weren’t so destructive/didn’t carry rabies.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

